Skip to content

PRAYERS FOR MEALS AND BEDTIME: SHARE YOUR PRAYERS!

November 2, 2009

by Karen

Okay everyone….Here’s your chance to share mealtime prayers and bedtime prayers for those who might like to learn some new ones. What prayers will we pass along to the next generation? What prayers do you remember from your childhood? What prayers are you using now? Here are a few to help get you started!

BEDTIME PRAYERS

Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep. If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take. If I should live for other days, I pray the Lord to guide my ways. Amen.

I give thanks to you, my heavenly Father, through Jesus Christ your dear Son, that you have graciously protected me today, and I ask you to forgive me all my sins, where I have done wrong, and graciously to protect me tonight. For into your hands I commend myself: my body, my soul, and all that is mine. Let your holy angel be with me, so that the wicked foe may have no power over me. Amen. (Martin Luther’s evening prayer)

MEALTIME PRAYERS

God is great. God is good. Now we thank him for our food. By his hand we all our fed. Give us Lord our daily bread. Amen

Come Lord Jesus, be our guest. Let these gifts to us be blessed. Blessed be God who is our bread. May all the world be clothed and fed. Amen.

What prayers do you say in your home in the morning? At mealtime? At bedtime? Please use the comment box to share your prayers!


3 Comments leave one →
  1. Scott Fackenthall permalink
    November 3, 2009 4:09 pm

    Hello Karen,
    I had a little prayer chair/bench. On it was written:

    Now I lay me down to sleep. I pray the Lord my soul to keep. If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.

    Thanks,
    Scott

  2. Scott Fackenthall permalink
    November 3, 2009 4:12 pm

    Hello Karen,

    Here is a meal time prayer that we started when the kids were little. We still sing it today every time we sit down for dinner.

    The lord is good to me, and so I thank the Lord,
    for giving me the things I need, the sun and the rain and the apple seeds, the Lord is good to me.

    Thanks,
    Scott

  3. November 3, 2009 4:17 pm

    Scott,
    The visual stuff (in your first comment) is signficant, I think, for children who are exploring everything with their senses. I know the “Now I lay me down to sleep” prayer that I included in the blog was on across stitch piece that my grandmother did. It hung in my bedroom and I stared at it before I even knew how to read. Now I have it hanging in my home!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

